+ 60 Years of National Book Awards: You Decide the Best Book

other topics: click a “category” or use search box

The National Book Foundation is celebrating its 60 years of book awards by blogging on a book each day  for the next 77 days.  Visit http://www.NBAFictionBlog.org .

To celebrate the 60th year of the National Book awards, they will offer a book-a-day blog posting on each of the Fiction winners from 1950 to 2008.

The blogs will run from July 7th to September 21st, starting with Nelson Algren’s “The Man With the Golden Arm,” and ending with this year’s winner, Peter Matheissen’s “Shadow Country.”

It will include works by Ralph Ellison, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth, Flannery O’Connor, Eudora Welty, and Alice McDermott.  Discover Conrad Richter, Wright Morris, and Robb Forman Dew.

Then on September 21st, you will have a chance to select “The Best of the National Book Award’s Fiction,” and win two tickets to the 2009 National Book Awards, by visitng the Foundation’s web site at http://www.nationalbook.org.  This is the first time the Awards have been open to a public vote.

Their daily blog includes information on each day’s winning book and will include original posts by contemporary authors, bloggers and editors, as well as this year’s judges and the winners of other literary awards. 

Visit every day for the next 77 days.  Order your own copies of these American classics from your local bookstore, online booksellers or library.  Feel free to post comments.

tutoring in Columbus OH:   Adrienne Edwards   614-579-6021   or email  aedwardstutor@columbus.rr.com


Comments are closed.