+ New “Innovations in Reading” Prize for Teachers, Librarians and Others

other topics: click a “category” or use search box

The National Book Foundation, the folks who bring us the National Book Awards, have announced the new Innovations in Reading Prize.  The prize awards up to $2,500 to individuals and institutions that have developed successful, innovative approaches to inspire Americans to become life-long and passionate readers.

Sponsored by a generous grant from The Ford Foundation, the Prize fulfills the National Book Foundation’s mission of expanding the audience for literature in America.

Prize-winning approaches will be published across the country.

Who Is Eligible:

  • Teachers, librarians, after-school and community center staff or other motivated individuals
  • Individuals and their partner institutions: schools libraries, after-school programs, and other community-based youth services organizations
  • Other non-profit organizations, including literary centers, museums, and historical societies
  • US-based corporations and their employees
  • Military personnel and bases

The Prize

  • $2500 cash award to an individual, organization or corporation; in the case of a partnership between an individual and an institution, the former will receive a $2,500 award and the latter $1,000.
  • A framed Innovations in Reading Certificate from the National Book Foundation
  • An article about the program on a special Innovations in Reading page on the NBA web site
  • An article about the program in the Foundation’s eNewsletter, which is sent to thousands of members of the literary community each month
  • An article about the program in the Foundation’s National Book Awards Gala Program, read by thousands of professionals in the literary and publishing community

Nomination Process

  • Recipients of the Innovations in Reading Prize must be nominated by two individuals familiar with their work
  • Self-nominations will be accepted if the Foundation receives two letters of support from individuals familiar with the work of the self-nominator
  • All letters of support must be sent directly to the Foundation’s office and should not be included with the application of the self-nominator.  Letter of support/nomination should be mailed (or emailed in .pdf format) to National Book Foundation, ATTN: Innovations in Reading, 95 Madison Avenue, Suite 709, New York NY 10016
  • All nominated individuals and/or institutions, whether self-nominated or nominated by a third party, must demonstrate creativity, risk-taking, and a visionary quality as well as model a novel way of presenting books and literature
  • Deadline:  All materials must be postmarked by February 15, 2009


  • The Foundation’s Executive Director and Director of Programs will review all nominations.  Those considered most promising will then be reviewed by a committee of Foundation board members and outside professionals such as writers, educators and community activists
  • Final selection will be made by the Foundation’s Board of Directors
  • Winners will be announced on May 1, 2009

For more information and to download the application, visit http://www.nationalbook.org/innovations_in_reading_2008.pdf.

The postmark deadline for all materials is February 15, 2009.

source: the National Book Foundation’s eNewsletter   www.nationalbook.org

tutoring in Columbus OH:   Adrienne Edwards   614-579-6021   or email   aedwardstutor@columbus.rr.com


Comments are closed.