+ Dr Chall’s Stages of Reading Development

other topics: click a “category” or use search box 

Dr JS Chall’s classic stages are mentioned in most reading curricula.  This list comes from her Stages of Reading Development, McGraw Hill 1996; as presented in the COLE Training Manual.

Stage 1…….Initial Reading and Decoding  (Grades 1 & 2) Learns the code; recognizes sight words

Stage 2……..Confirmation  (Grades 2 & 3) Consolidates decoding skills; reading becomes accurate, effortless, and fluent

Stage 3……..Reading for Learning New Information  (Grades 4 – 8 )  Reads to learn; relates print to new ideas; reads text with one viewpoint; reading becomes more efficient than listening

Stage 4……..Multiple Viewpoints (Grades 9 – 12) Reads material with multiple viewpoints;  able to deal with layers of facts and concepts added to prior knowledge

Stage 5……..Construction and Reconstruction  (Post-Secondary) Constructs knowledge from reading; depends on analysis, synthesis, and judgement; constructs knowledge at a high level of abstraction; creates own “truth” from “truths” of others 

Source:  Chall, J.S. (1996) Stages of Reading Development. New York: McGraw-Hill.  See also  Hall, S.L and Moats, L.C (1999) Straight Talk About Reading,Chicago, IL: Contemporary Books

for Tutoring, contact me at        aedwardstutor@columbus.rr.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s